Two defendants plead guilty in 2016 shootout

Two men charged in a 2016 attempted robbery and gunfight at a private garage off Lake Monticello Road entered guilty pleas to multiple felony charges in Fluvanna County Circuit Court on Thursday (Jan. 18). 

Add a comment


The Board of Supervisors met all day Saturday (Jan. 20) to hash out Fluvanna County’s direction moving forward into 2018.

Sitting in the new Lake Monticello Volunteer Fire Department building, supervisors pored over two lengthy lists: their strategic initiatives and their goals from the 2015 iteration of the county’s Comprehensive Plan.
Rather than taking concrete actions reserved for regular Wednesday meetings, supervisors spent their time reworking the lists: removing items deemed to be complete, adding tasks that have arisen over the past year, and tweaking plans that need further attention.

Master water and sewer plan
Developing a master water and sewer plan for Fluvanna County needs to be the Board’s top utilities goal for the year, said Wayne Stephens, director of public works.

Supervisor goals called for providing water and sewer to the county’s community planning areas (CPAs), but Stephens said the language was too vague. Instead, supervisors need to come up with an actual plan as to how to accomplish that task, he said – an undertaking that will require significant study.

“Until we have some serious looking into the topography and the geographic layout of our CPAs, and have somebody looking at how you would provide water and sewer on such and such a road… Until you start generally mapping some of that stuff out, you’re not really going to know how much it’s going to cost to provide water and sewer to a certain area,” Stephens said.

The county has undertaken two major water projects: the James River Water Authority, which will pipe water from the James River through Louisa to Zion Crossroads, and the Zion Crossroads water system, which will take water from the women’s prison on Route 250 and route it to the Zion Crossroads area. Add a comment


Dominion to mothball Bremo Power Station

Dominion Energy announced Wednesday (Jan. 17) that it will be closing nine units at five of its power generating stations across Virginia, including both units at Fluvanna’s Bremo Power Station.

Add a comment


Scottsville Even though there were plenty of activities during the month of December to keep everyone busy, the Scottsville town governing body remained dedicated to town business. There was activity in several ongoing projects and work begun on new projects – all destined to improve both the town itself and those who call it home.
With town finances in good shape, the Town Council made several expenditures over the past several months, each with the welfare of the town as the motivating factor.

Sidewalk project advances
With the approval of Town Council, the Timmons Group, a well-known civil engineering company based in Richmond, was enlisted to do a preliminary engineering study of a proposed sidewalk project linking “downtown” Scottsville to the “uptown” economic area.

Phase one of the project calls for a sidewalk with associated improvements from the area of Warren Street along Valley Street to the area of the intersection between Route 6 and Route 20. Phase two would continue from that point up Route 6 to James River Road.

The cost of phase one is estimated to be around $2 million while phase two would cost an additional $850,000. There are several grant programs available to funds projects such as this one. The Scottsville Planning Commission and town administrator, with the help of the Thomas Jefferson Planning District Commission, are working to find the best grant program to finance this project. Add a comment


GroundbreakingAt long last people gathered to turn over the first spade of soil signaling the Farm Heritage Museum is on its way.

On a chilly Wednesday (Jan. 10) afternoon, friends and family of John May, 95, pushed a golden shovel into the ground at Pleasant Grove.

“Because John’s doctors wouldn’t let him come today just means we can say more about him; brag about him a bit,” said Overton McGehee, May’s nephew.

May grew up on his family’s Fluvanna farm where he learned the art of horse farming.

He stayed home to keep the farm going while his brothers went to fight in World War II, McGehee said.

May, who at one time served on the Board of Supervisors, became interested in collecting old farm equipment. As his collection grew, he wanted others to enjoy it. That desire was the seed of Old Farm Day, first held in 1996 at Pleasant Grove.

So many attended Old Farm Day to see the old tractors, hand and field tools May collected, he thought of building a museum to house it.
May “wants us all to know the people we came from worked really, really hard and that we as people have always been innovating,” McGehee said. “In this museum you’ll see the evolution of farming from 1865 through 1965. Uncle John would want us to remember we always need to keep looking for new ways to plow the ground and improve what we produce.”

Marvin Moss, the president of the Fluvanna Historical Society executive committee, spoke to the crowd.

“When John May said he’d be willing to donate his collection, a group started raising money in 2011,” Moss said. “We started out with $70,000 in grants, and then raised $200,000 from people in Fluvanna County. This is a public-private partnership. Most jurisdictions don’t do this, but we do it well.”

The county put the project out to bid, and in November, awarded it to Fuog/Interbuild, Inc. At the same meeting, supervisors voted 4-1 to cover the difference between the $285,425 that had been raised and the anticipated final cost of $339,895. Add a comment