Lake member-guest golf tournament is a success

Larry Teal Sr. and Larry Teal Jr. won the gross score category.The Grand Champions are the teams that scored the highest number of points in gross and net in any of the five flights. Their teams are than removed from consideration in the competitions in the individual flights. And, no team may win both gross and net in a flight. As a result, there are two winning teams in each of five flights, plus the two Grand Champion winning teams for a total of 12 winning teams out of 30 teams competing. Winning teams therefore do not have to include outstanding players (although it helps), rather, they just need to have a player or two who is playing better than usual.

In the flight that was a mix of teams with two non-senior players and some teams low handicap teams with a senior and a non-senior, the winners in the gross score category were the team of Larry Teal Sr. and Larry Teal Jr. They had 31½ points.

The net points winners in this flight were Rich Barringer and Jim Ward, with 27.5 points. In the next flight, the teams all included a senior and a non-senior. This flight had a tie for the high gross. The team of Duncan Nixon and Jack Ashley was awarded the gross point title over the team of Ed Moser and Rick Quintero based on a tie breaker of head-to-head competition. The winner in the net point category was the team of Cliff Altschull and Marc Altschull.

In the first flight of teams made up of two senior players the flight winner in gross points was the team made up of Dave Murrow and Stampy Reed. They garnered 32½ points. The net points winner in this flight was the team of Dan Reuther and Jim Jorgenson. In the second flight of senior players, the gross point title went to Terry Furlong and Bill Coburn. The net points winner was the team of Dan Atkinson and Jerry Kiernan. In the final flight of seniors teams, the winner of the gross score competition was the team of Wayne Murphy and Frank Minitti, while the net score competition was won by Bob Yost and Andy Deprete.

The member-guest tournament was played this year with three nine hole rounds on Saturday and two nine hole rounds on Sunday. A highlight in the tournament came in the first round on Saturday when Jack Ashley scored a hole in one. Ashley recorded his ace on the 164 yard par three 16th hole, using a seven iron. Ashley also won the long drive competition on Sunday, for those players hitting from the white tees.

The tournament was organized and run this year by a triumvirate of Lake golfers. John Swenson was responsible for the prizes, Terry Furlong was responsible for the gifts and Gail Robertson was responsible for the food. In addition, Furlong lauded Lake Monticello golf pro Mark Marshall for supporting and assisting the organizers throughout the process of putting the tournament together. Furlong noted that “Mark was extremely helpful.”

After the event Marshall noted that the weather was terrific, and “players were positive about the improved playing conditions”. He commented that they especially praised the conditions of the greens, which are playing faster and truer. Players also noted that there are “a lot of little things that have been improved around the course.”

Related Posts

dewi88 cuanslot dragon77 cuan138 enterslots rajacuan megahoki88 ajaib88 warung168 fit188 pusatwin pusatwin slot tambang88 mahkota88 slot99 emas138