Gray Foxes finish 26th golf season

The traditional year-end banquet was held at the Ashlawn Grille on Nov. 5. The dinner is a quality buffet dinner with free beer. The banquet, and the mid-season picnic with spouses, are paid for by the $45 enrollment fee paid by each player at the beginning of the season. There is also a weekly $3 fee assessed to each golfer. Money collected weekly are paid out on the weeks’ performance in pro shop credits and in sleeves of golf balls for “closest to the pin.”

At the banquet, awards for the top performances during the 2012 golf season were announced. Tom McCarthy, coordinator of the 18 hole program, announced that the best gross score for a single round posted during the season was 76 by Larry Cormier. The best net score posted during the season was a 56 by Gary Woody. In the year long tournament known as “Ringers”, the best overall gross score was 63 by Larry Cormier and the best overall net score was 45 by Duncan Nixon. Gary Woody had the second best score in both competitions. Winners received gift certificates redeemable at the Lake Monticello pro shop.

Ringers is a competition that is played once a month and records are kept for the entire season. Each players’ best score on each hole is recorded over months of play. So, if, during ringers play, a golfer birdies hole number 2 in April, hole number 4 in May and hole number 6 in August, that golfer now has a gross ringers score that includes a birdie on all three of these holes for the season. If this golfer has a high handicap that awards him a stroke on each of these holes, he records a net score for the season of eagle on each of these holes.

Joe Clark coordinator of the nine hole program announced that the winners in low gross round and low net for a single round were: John Borros with a low net of 27 and Stacey Barnard with an extremely good low gross of 33. In the year long ringers competition for the nine hole group, the winners were: George Lissy with a low net of 22 and Stacey Barnard with a low gross of 31.

In the last week of competition both the eighteen hole, and the nine hole, Gray Foxes compete in a “Turkey Shoot” for gift certificate prizes. In the eighteen hole group, Turkey Shoot winners were: Dan Atkinson, Duncan Nixon, Pete Ferensak, Phil Seyller, Joe Carrara, Larry Cormier, Terry Furlong and Tom McCarthy. Tied for a turkey shoot prize were: John Platt, Jack Hartwell, George Robertson and Bob Strohmeyer. In the nine hole group, the Turkey shoot winners were: Stacey Barnard, George Lissy, Jack Donnelly, Fred DeFelice, Pat Ryan, Leo Meekin, Andy Rutkowski, George Hurchalla and Joe Clark.

At the end of the dinner there were a host of raffle prizes awarded to golfers in attendance. officers of the Gray Foxes for the 2013 season will be: Joe Clark – president, Bob Strohmeyer – vice president, Ray Gott – treasurer, Tom McCarthy 18 hole coordinator, and Joe Clark – 9 hole coordinator.

Related Posts

dewi88 cuanslot dragon77 cuan138 enterslots rajacuan megahoki88 ajaib88 warung168 fit188 pusatwin pusatwin slot tambang88 mahkota88 slot99 emas138