Sports banquet


Mike Sheridan the baseball coach announced that three Flucos were selected to the All-Jefferson District,  second  team.  Dylan Garrett was selected as an outfielder, Tre Bright was selected as a second baseman and Maxx Turner was selected to the second team as both a pitcher and a third baseman.

Softball coach Aimee McCall reported that the girls’ team had six athletes honored. Selected to the first team were Tiffani Shaheen in the outfield and Mindy Lawson in the infield. Making the second team were Kierstan Allen in the outfield, Lexi Scott and Brooke Herndon in the infield and Annaliese Kennedy as a pitcher. It was also announced that the softball team’s season was still not over, as they continue to compete in the Conference 23 play-offs.

The Fluco track and field teams had outstanding seasons. The girls’ team coached by Steve Szarmach finished second in the Conference 23 year end meet. All-Conference performers included: Erin Blackburn, Jaqualine Rodriquez, Kaycie Palmly, Autumn Shepherd, Avery Haislip, Rachel Devore, Devon Burger, Hailey Kline, Julianna Elliot, Malika Hill, Hannah Meador, and Mia Perch. In addition, Hannah Meador was honored as the VSHL Division 4 Female Athlete of the Year, and as the VIAAA Female Athlete of the Year.

The boys’ track and field team also placed a number of athletes on the All-Conference 23 squad. The team finished fifth overall in the conference meet and 10 of the 25 athletes who competed in the meet made all-conference. They were:  KaShawn Anderson,  Markyll Bland,  Karel Bruce, Jonathan Corbin, Tyler Hartzog, Marcus Jackson, Matt Jonkman, Deiondre Key, Travis Moe, and Jesse VanDyke. Key, Moe and VanDyke were all made all-conference in two events and Key was a conference champion.

Coach Norm Gee reported that his boys’ lacrosse team won a play-off game for the first time in Fluco lacrosse’s three year history.  Five Fluco lacrosse players were named to the All-conference teams. Midfielder Austin Early was named to the first team, while Matt Fragola, Jake Mooney, Vaughn Bodie and Joel Kesterman were named to the second team. Fragola and Mooney played midfield/attack, Kesterman was a midfielder, and Bodie was a long stick midfielder.

Coach Jenny Payne reported on the girl’s lacrosse squad’s season.  Clay Conner was All-conference and, although the varsity team did not have much success this season, the JV squad was over .500, so there is promise for the future.

Coach Jason Davis reported that his boys’ tennis team posted a 7-10 record this season, and won its first Conference 23 play-off contest ever. John Herrick and Mike Tamony was the standout on this squad. Coach Connie Banton reported that the girls’ tennis squad posted an 8-8 record this year. It also won a Conference 23 play-off match. Sarah Scruggs and Tory Stribbling were named All-Conference.

The boys’ soccer team did not have many wins this year, but Coach Earl Gibson noted that the season was “a good learning experience.”  Carter Albaugh was named to the All-District first team, while Nigel Manifold was selected to the second team. Last, but certainly not least was girls’ soccer. Coach Kristen Davis reported that her team posted a 9-5-1 record and was still playing in the Conference 23 tournament.  Three of the Flucos were named to the All-District first team. They are Maddie Messier, Cyan Coates, and goalie Morgan Symmers.  Named to the second team were Sarah Homan and Katie Stutz.  All of these players, with the exception of Homan are underclassman. The future looks bright for girls’ soccer.







Related Posts

dewi88 cuanslot dragon77 cuan138 enterslots rajacuan megahoki88 ajaib88 warung168 fit188 pusatwin pusatwin slot tambang88 mahkota88 slot99 emas138