Sports banquet

The track and field teams had very successful seasons. Coach Steven Szarmach who handled the girls’ team had four all region athletes and a host of all-Conference 23 performers. Alex Daniels was the teams’ only Regional champion performing in the high jump. All-Region honors also went to Matasha Martin in the 100 hurdles and the high jump, and to Avery Haislip and Erin Blackburn in the pole vault. Winners at the Conference 23 meet were: Matasha Martin in the 100 hurdles, Kristen Cabrera in the 1600 meter run, Avery Haislip in the pole vault and Julianna Elliot in the shot put and the discus. Martin made All-Conference in three other events. Haislip was All-Conference in two other events, and Cabrera in one.  Also making All-Conference were Hayley Kline, Saige Haney (two events), Haley Kennedy (two events), Jackie Rodriquez (two events), Autumn Shepherd (four events) Erin Blackburn and Madison Stotz

Tom Casto, the boys’ track and field coach announced that his squad had one all-conference performer, Karel Bruce, in both the 100 meter dash and the long jump. Jefferson District champions for the boys’ team were Bruce in the long jump, Markyll Bland in the triple jump and Jake Morris in the discus.  Bruce also made All-Conference in four other events Bland did the same in two other events, and Morris in one. Other All-Conference competitors were: Brian Brown, Victor Agee,Kashawn Anderson (in five events), Tyler Hartzog, Matt Jonkman,Morgan Milburn, Andy Riddler, Vincent Agee, Julian Bonner (two events), Keegan Campanelli, Shane Morris and Zach Hartzog.

Aimee McCall the coach of the softball team announced the substantial honors that her team achieved. At the time they were 20-3 for the season and still playing in the 4A Regional tournament. Conference 23 honors went to a number of the Flucos, as was appropriate since the Flucos swept through the Conference 23 tournament. All-conference second team honors went to Cassie Kingsley, Sophie Kershner, Kaitlin Presley, and Kiersten Allen, and Tyler Haislip. All-Conference first team honors went to Victoria Belew, Tiffany Shaheen, Alexis Scott and Annaliese Kennedy. Scott was player of the year and Kennedy was pitcher of the year. In addition, McCall was honored as Conference 23 coach of the year.

Coach Sheridan announced that the baseball team gained the following All-Conference 23 honors. Senior catcher Bowen Reed was second team while, junior Tre’ Bright was second team at shortstop and a unanimous selection to the first team as the utility player.

Coach Kristen Davis reported that the girls’ soccer team had a very successful season, finishing 12-3-1. All second team conference 23 were, Lexi DeMers and Alyson Moore. First team all-Conference were Cyan Coates, Maddie Messier, Katie Stutz, Kiana Childress, Lindsay Price and Morgan Symmers. Coach Davis was the coach of the year in the conference.

The boys’ soccer team under Coach Earl Gibson was also quite successful, ending their regular season at second in the conference at 11-5-1. All-conference First Team honors went to Carter Allbaugh, Jameel Wilson and Hunter DeForge. Second Team honors went to Craig Cook, Michael McKinnon and Matt Rafaly.

In girls’ lacrosse, Coach Heath Hughes reported that All-Charlottesville Conference honors went to Courtney Ott who was first team, and to Natalie Hughes, Nyomi Mbuyisa, Tori McDonald who were second team. The boys’ lacrosse team under coach Michael Gee was led by Zach Kent and Jake Mooney/ First Team All-Charlottesville Conference boys honors went to Vaughn Bodie. Second Team honors went to Joel Kesterson, Zack Kent, Devon Nicholson, Josh Satterly and Lane Kadlec.

In tennis, the boys’ team under Coach Jason Davis was led by Keegan Campanelli and Nikola Bajs who won their first round doubles match at the Conference meet. Campanelli also won his first singles match 6-1, 6-1. Girls’ tennis team under Coach Jason Barnett was led by Tory Stribling and Jessie Kirby. In the conference doubles competition, they went to the semi-finals.


Related Posts

dewi88 cuanslot dragon77 cuan138 enterslots rajacuan megahoki88 ajaib88 warung168 fit188 pusatwin pusatwin slot tambang88 mahkota88 slot99 emas138