Lake Monticello Sharks off to good start


In this meet against the Gators, the Sharks would have won handily if it had been scored. In the 11 relay races that would have counted the Sharks won nine. In the individual swim events across the four disciplines of freestyle, backstroke, breaststroke, and butterfly, the Sharks won twice as many races as did the Gators. Accordingly, the meet was a resounding success for the Sharks.

In the individual races, the Lake Monticello team did not dominate at first.  Aaron Fairbanks won the boys’ 8 and under 25 meter freestyle (one length of the pool). The Gators then won the next two events. In the girls’ 9-10 25 meter freestyle, the Sharks won, as Julia Tomaras was the fastest swimmer by nearly two seconds. In the boys’ 11-12 50 meter freestyle Jackson Kinsella won for the Sharks. In the age 13-14 50 meter freestyle, the Sharks won in both the boys’ and the girls’ events. Hunter Strickland was the boys’ winner and Jocelyn Notman won for the girls. In the 15-18 age girls’ race Caylyn McNaul defeated her Sharks team mate Zoe Moore by 30.93 to 30.94, a near dead heat.

In the girls’ 8 and under 25 meter breaststroke, Emma Pittman won for the Sharks with a margin of victory of over seven seconds. In the age 9-10 50 meter breaststroke, the Lake Monticello squad scored back-to-back wins. Jackson Hopkins won in the boys’ race, and Julia Tomaras was the winner in the girls’ race. In the age 11-12 50 meter breaststroke it was Jackson Kinsella again for the Sharks with a winning time more than four seconds better than his closest rival. Similarly, in the age 15-18 50 meter breaststroke the Sharks won both the boys’ and the girls’ events. Morgan Milburn won the boys’ event and Morgan Maupin won the girls’ race. It was an interesting coincidence to have both winners have the same first name.

Next came the backstroke. This was the Gators best event. The Sharks did not get a win until the boys’ 11-12 50 meter event. It was won by Austin Fairbanks, by better than three seconds. Then Reagan McAdams won for the girls in better than six seconds. In the age 13-14 category, the Sharks again won both the boys’ and the girls’ races. Owen Strickland won for the boys and Sheridan Smith won for the girls. In the 15-18 girls’ competition, the Sharks’ FeFe Nardone blazed to the win by an amazing margin of more than 12 seconds.

The backstroke events were followed by the grueling butterfly contests. The Sharks were especially strong in this discipline, winning seven of the eight races which were completed. In the age 8 and under events, none of the swimmers were able to finish without being disqualified. It is a very difficult event. In the age 9-10 competitions, the winners for the Lake Monticello team were Jackson Hopkins and Rebekah Kraft. In the age 11-12 category Andrew Franco won for the Sharks. In the age 13-14 races, the winners for the Sharks were Hunter Strickland and Jordan Franco. In the oldest age group, the Sharks who scored wins were Morgan Milburn and FeFe Nardone.

The meet then returned to the freestyle discipline for longer races. Here too, the Sharks were completely dominant, winning nine of ten races. In the 8 and under races at 50 meters, Lake Monticello won with Aaron Fairbanks and Emma Pittman finishing first in the boys’ and girls’ events respectively. In the age 9-10, the Lake Monticello team again won the boys’ and girls’ races with Ley Alexander and Julia Tomaras. In the age 11-12 races the Sharks took both again. Jackson Kinsella and Ava Amato were the winners. In the 13-14 girls’ event, Hunter Strickland and Jocelyn Notman were the winners. Finally, in the last event of the meet, the girls’ 100 meter freestyle, the winner for the Sharks was Caylyn McNaul.

Winners in the relay events that began the meet were numerous. 100 and 200 meter medley relays. 8 and under boys: Carter Covington, Harrison Williams, Matthew Rea, and Andrew Mikesh.  8 and under girls: Kylie Phillips, Lila Kate Robinson, Emma Pittman and Annika Bridge. 9-10 boys: Leo Carter, Jackson Hopkins, Ley Alexander and Hayden Bridge.  9-10 girls: Anne Marie Rooks, Anna Amato, Brenna Rea and Abbie Ford. 11-12 boys: Tyler Harris, Andrew Franco, Jackson Kinsella and Zachary Harris. 13-14 boys:  Owen Strickland, Logan Milburn, Hunter Strickland and Gabe Nardone. 13-14 girls: Sheridan Smith, Emily Sprouse, Jordan Franco, and Jocelyn Notman. 15-18 girls: Oliivia Strickland,Zoe Moore, FeFe Nardone and Caylyn McNaul.

Related Posts

dewi88 cuanslot dragon77 cuan138 enterslots rajacuan megahoki88 ajaib88 warung168 fit188 pusatwin pusatwin slot tambang88 mahkota88 slot99 emas138