Five area students earn electric co-op scholarships

Press release

Five Central Virginia high school seniors have each earned $1,000 college scholarships awarded

by the Education Scholarship Foundation of the Virginia, Maryland & Delaware Association of

Electric Cooperatives. The recipients are:

 Shaniya Johnson of Appomattox, a student at Appomattox County High School

 Brooke Nazar of Palmyra, a student at Fluvanna County High School

 Rachel Hoefner of Palmyra, a student at Fluvanna County High School

 Alisha Hunsaker of Keswick, a student at Fluvanna County High School

 Malena Stallard of Palmyra, a student at Fluvanna County High School

The students were eligible for consideration because their parents are members of Central

Virginia Electric Cooperative (CVEC). “The cost of college and post-graduation training

programs are steadily rising and CVEC recognizes that seniors in our rural communities can

benefit from scholarships to help offset those costs,” says Gary Wood, president and CEO of

CVEC. “It is such a pleasure to see that five of our high school seniors were selected as


Scholarship recipients were chosen based on a competitive screening process that considers

financial need (40 percent), academic achievement (40 percent) and community involvement (20

percent). Applicants must be a senior graduating from either high school or home school in 2020.

They must also provide evidence of their acceptance into a post-high school educational

institution or program. These grants can be used to pay for tuition, fees and books.

“We commend these students on their outstanding academic achievements,” said Russell G.

“Rusty” Brown, chair of the VMDAEC Education Scholarship Foundation Committee and vice

chairman of the board of directors at Northern Neck Electric Cooperative. “Our electric

cooperatives are delighted to provide support to these worthy students, as they represent a future

generation of leaders in their communities.”

This year, the Foundation awarded 57 Worth Hudson scholarships of $1,000 each to students

who live in areas served by electric cooperatives in Delaware, Maryland and Virginia. The

scholarships are named in honor of Hudson, the Foundation’s first chairman. Since 2001, the

Foundation has provided approximately 780 scholarships totaling more than $740,000 to aspiring

college students as well as to the next generation of electric lineworkers.

The Foundation is funded through tax-deductible donations and bequests from individuals,

proceeds from benefit fundraising events and CoBank’s Sharing Success Program.

Related Posts

dewi88 cuanslot dragon77 cuan138 enterslots rajacuan megahoki88 ajaib88 warung168 fit188 pusatwin pusatwin slot tambang88 mahkota88 slot99 emas138