LMOA board candidates participate in forum

By Heather Michon

Four candidates vying for two open seats on the Lake Monticello Owners Association Board of Directors participated in a forum on Monday night (May 20), just days before ballots go out to more than 4,000 Lake Monticello households.

The debate, moderated by Ron Krauss of the Lake Monticello Broadcast Group, lasted about 90 minutes and was overwhelmingly a positive and thoughtful exchange of ideas.

Candidates Scott Murdoch, Steven Tatro, Matthew Carter, and Jennifer Richardson were invited to introduce themselves and tell the audience of about 25 people why they were running before answering a series of questions submitted by the community.

As it turned out, all four candidates agreed on most of the core issues facing the community. 

All support the $150 dues increase up for a vote this summer. They agree that Aqua rates are too high, that the LMOA should be as transparent in its actions as possible, and that the ECC should enforce community standards. They agreed that protecting the Lake’s tree canopy was essential and that the amenities were important. 

The differences between the candidates were mostly biographical.

Murdoch and Tatro are both retirees with lengthy resumes in management. As a business executive, Tatro managed a $20 million annual budget. Murdoch spent decades running high-end hotels and homeowners associations.

Carter and Richardson were two of the leading voices in the campaign to remove Director Don Polonis last year. They represent a different facet of Lake Monticello life: families with young children who want to see a more inclusive community for all. 

“I believe we are rich in intergenerational wisdom here at the Lake,” said Carter. 

The event was broadcast on the Lake’s Channel 977 and posted to the LMOA’s YouTube Channel for those who could not be there in person.

Ballots and instructions for online voting will be mailed out on May 28. Residents will have until June 21 to cast their votes, and results will be announced at the annual meeting on June 29.

Related Posts

dewi88 cuanslot dragon77 cuan138 enterslots rajacuan megahoki88 ajaib88 warung168 fit188 pusatwin pusatwin slot tambang88 mahkota88 slot99 emas138